Imperial Fiction: The index

View Posts


Now that more than fifty books are reviewed in my Imperial Fiction series, I thought it might be worth creating an index. So these are the books arranged in chronological order, with a couple of titles from other posts thrown in. I shall try to keep this updated.

Anna Sewell, Black Beauty (1877)

F. Anstey, Vice Versa (1882)
Robert Louis Stevenson, Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (1886)
F. Anstey, A Fallen Idol (1886)

Arthur Conan Doyle, The Great Shadow (1892)
Guy Boothby, A Bid for Fortune (1895)
Charles J. Mansford, Bully, Fag and Hero (1896)
Arthur Conan Doyle, The Exploits of Brigadier Gerard (1896)
Richard Marsh, The Beetle (1897)
Guy Boothby, A Prince of Swindlers (1897)
Rudyard Kipling, Stalky & Co (1899)

John Buchan, The Half-Hearted (1900)
Marie Corelli, Boy (1900)
A.E.W. Mason, The Four Feathers (1902)
Erskine Childers, The Riddle of the Sands (1903)
Arthur Conan Doyle, The Adventures of the Brigadier (1903)
Baroness Orczy, The Scarlet Pimpernel (1905)
Hilaire Belloc, Mr Clutterbuck’s Election (1908)
Algernon Blackwood, John Silence: Physician Extraordinary (1908)
Ernest Bramah, The Secret of the League (1909)

Barry Pain, The Exiles of Faloo (1910)
Bram Stoker, The Lair of the White Worm (1911)
Edgar Wallace, Sanders of the River (1911)
Arthur Conan Doyle, The Lost World (1912)
John Buchan, The Power-House (1913)
Arthur Conan Doyle, The Poison Belt (1913)
John Buchan, The Thirty-Nine Steps (1915)
John Buchan, Greenmantle (1916)
Herbert Jenkins, Bindle (1916)
John Buchan, Mr Standfast (1918)
W.A. Darlington, Alf’s Button (1919)

O. Douglas, Penny Plain (1920)
Agatha Christie, The Mysterious Affair at Styles (1920)
John Buchan, Huntingtower (1922)
Agatha Christie, The Secret Adversary (1922)
Sapper, Jim Maitland (1923)
P.C. Wren, Beau Geste (1924)
John Buchan, The Three Hostages (1924)
John St Loe Strachey, The Madonna of the Barricades (1925)
Arthur Conan Doyle, The Land of Mist (1926)
Dorothy L. Sayers, Clouds of Witness (1926)
Margery Allingham, The White Cottage Mystery (1928)
Dorothy L. Sayers, The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club (1928)
A.G. Macdonell, The Factory on the Cliff (1928)

John Buchan, Castle Gay (1930)
Margery Allingham, Mystery Mile (1930)
Margery Allingham, Police at the Funeral (1931)
Dorothy L. Sayers, The Nine Tailors (1934)
James Hilton, Goodbye, Mr Chips (1934)
John Buchan, The House of the Four Winds (1935)
John Bude, The Cornish Coast Murder (1935)
John Buchan, The Island of Sheep (1936)
Alan Melville, Death of Anton (1936)
J. Jefferon Farjeon, Mystery in White (1937)
A.G. Macdonell, The Autobiography of a Cad (1938)

Dornford Yates, Lower than Vermin (1950)



Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.